Hibiscus Heaven

Hibiscus is a favorite of mine and I get one just about every year. I love the continuous blooms and the shiny foliage, and so do the hummingbirds. I usually go for the intense reds or pinks, but this year I was intrigued by a stunning golden yellow with a burgundy center. There were only a couple of them at the nursery in the midst of dozens of more traditional varieties, all of which were larger and more lush than this one, but I went with it anyway. I’m so glad I did. It makes up in splendor for what it lacks in size. Each of the blooms is 5-6″ across. What a joyous sight on a cloudy morning, and on a sunny day I feel as though I’ve been transported to the tropics. Margaritas and island music are optional but highly recommended.

20140627-101250-36770807.jpg

Leave a Reply

MTP Originals

A stitching diary

minnesota growing

Growing things in the frozen upper midwest

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Travels of the Elderly

Just another WordPress.com site

