First Freeze

It was 28° when I awoke today. This is the first real freeze of the season. We’ve had a few brushes with 32° but this is serious frost. Any annuals hanging around from summer are done for it, and most perennials have packed it in as well.

With this weather, I drink a lot of hot tea. I just got a new “Tea Quilt”, an insulated tea cozy to keep my tea hot on cold days. They come in so many beautiful patterns it was nearly impossible to choose, but I knew I wanted birds in there, so my choices were narrowed but still difficult. Many designs had winter scenes with cardinals, one of everyone’s favorites, but I decided when I’m drinking a hot potion to keep me warm I’d rather be reminded of warmer days, so I went with fruit and birds. This photo doesn’t do it justice. The colors are so much richer in person, they almost glow. Underneath is a pot of piping hot tea that was made almost 2 hours ago. It’s still so hot I need a pot holder to pick it up. Yay! It works. Hmmm. Maybe I’ll get one of the wintery patterns with cardinals, just for the holidays….

Hand made in Little Canada, MN USA

Hand made in Little Canada, MN USA

 

Leave a Reply

MTP Originals

A stitching diary

minnesota growing

Growing things in the frozen upper midwest

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Travels of the Elderly

Just another WordPress.com site

