To say I have been remiss in my recording of the growing season would be a gross understatement.  Apparently I only enjoy blogging about gardens and wildlife when there is no actual gardening to be done.  I took a few pictures this summer, but they never got posted.

This morning I was up around 5:30 and am sitting with my latté, reading Travels of the Elderly, and realizing how bittersweet this time of year is for me.  I love autumn: the luscious colors, the leaves crunching, the crisp air.  Pumpkins, apples, spiced delights.  I hate fall: the shorter days, the impending doom of winter’s chill, tossing my summer plants.  It is now 7 am and the light is just barely peeking through.  It’s no longer pitch dark outside, but just barely.  I try not to think about how much more the days will ultimately shrink before the winter solstice, or how much later daylight will appear before daylight savings time ends.  We have had a streak of chilly days and nights, but it now looks like we’ll have some Indian summer for a few days.

The hummingbirds are gone and the goldfinches are beginning to look a little ratty as they transform from their intense yellow summer frocks to their dull winter coats.  The harbingers of winter.  But not yet.  Today it will be in the 70’s and lovely.  Today it is autumn, not fall.

Leave a Reply

MTP Originals

A stitching diary

minnesota growing

Growing things in the frozen upper midwest

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Travels of the Elderly

Just another WordPress.com site

