California Dreamin’

It’s May 1 and I looked at my weather app this morning.  I knew we were in for a cold snap after our beautiful spring weather of the last few days, but imagine my shock when I saw the red winter storm warning!  We’re supposed to get, hold on, 6-9″ ???  Rather than get depressed I wrote (well, re-wrote) a song:

Goes with the tune of the Mama’s and the Papa’s “California Dreaming”:

All the snow was gone,
And the sky was blue
I went to the nursery
And bought a plant or two.
I was kinda hopin’
To put the coats away.
California dreamin’ on a Minnesota day.

Stopped in to a church
I saw along the way.
Well I got down on my knees,
And I began to pray.
I asked “What kind of place is this?
We’re getting snow in May”
California dreamin’ on a Minnesota day.

(repeat bridge)

If I had my senses,
I would leave today
California dreamin’ on a wintery day in May.

Leave a Reply

MTP Originals

A stitching diary

minnesota growing

Growing things in the frozen upper midwest

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Travels of the Elderly

Just another WordPress.com site

